Question: What's the youngest age at which a person could get married without needing their parent's permission?
In certain states (such as Arkansas and Delaware), a girl that is pregnant or has given birth can get married at any age without parental permission provided they have special judicial permission.
A minor at 14 years or older that has already been married (WITH parental consent) and then gotten divorced or widowed can remarry WITHOUT parental consent in both Alabama and Utah.
Thus the youngest age at which a person could get married without special permission is 14.
"Age of consent" is the age at which one can get married without needing special permission.
In all states (and Washington, D.C.), the age of consent is 18 years old EXCEPT for:
Mississippi : 21 years old
Nebraska : 19 years old
Puerto Rico : 21 years old
A person under the age of consent can still get married if they meet certain conditions which vary greatly from state to state. The conditions usually involve some combination of (1) being above a certain age, (2) having parental consent, (3) having judicial consent, (4) having been previously married, or (5) being pregnant.
For example, in Alabama parties can wed at age 14 with parental consent. Furthermore, parental consent is NOT needed for a minor that has already been married (although in such cases other laws still apply).
In California, there is no minimum marriage age; only parental consent is needed.
by Mrs JW
Click any of the links below to automatically search the given site for: What's the youngest age at which a person could get married without needing their parent's permission?